2020 Graduate Student Topology and Geometry Conference


  • Unfortunately, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to cancel the conference.
  • We will reschedule the conference at Indiana University for Spring 2021.

© The Trustees of Indiana University

About the conference

The Graduate Student Topology and Geometry Conference (GSTGC) is an annual meeting for graduate students interested in topology and geometry.

The aim of the conference is to expose graduate students to current research in topology and geometry, to provide graduate students a venue to give talks (either original research or expository), and to give graduate students a chance to network among themselves as well as to speak with experts in their fields.

Most of the talks at the conference will be given by graduate students. Additionally, plenary and young faculty speakers will deliver several distinguished lectures.

Conference Policy

Statement of Inclusiveness

The organizers of GSTGC 2020 are committed to creating an environment that is inclusive, supportive, and safe. We support the rights of all attendees to fully participate in the conference regardless of race, sex, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, age, pregnancy, immigration status, or any other aspect of identity.

Policy on Harassment and Discrimination

All participants at GSTGC 2020 will be treated with dignity and respect; discrimination or harassment of any form will not be tolerated. The conference, being hosted by Indiana University, is subject to the University's policies on discrimination and harassment.

Since all funding for participants' travel and lodging has been made possible by an NSF Conference Grant, we take this opportunity to remind our participants of the NSF's zero tolerance policy on harassment:
The National Science Foundation (NSF) will not tolerate sexual harassment, other forms of harassment, or sexual assault, within the agency, at awardee organizations, field sites or anywhere science or education is conducted.

Conference Organization

Leading Organizers

  • Sanjana Agarwal
  • Didac Martinez-Granado
  • Kursat Sozer


  • Vinicius Ambrosi
  • Hayley Bertrand
  • Patrick Chu
  • Yunlin He
  • Homin Lee
  • Geunho Lim
  • Peter Marek
  • InSung Park
  • Noah Riggenbach
  • Emily Rudman
  • Dylan Spence
  • Ryan Stees
  • Ramazan Yol


We gratefully acknowledge financial support from

  • National Science Foundation,
  • Indiana University Mathematics Journal,
  • Indiana University Department of Mathematics.



Conference Venue

The conference will take place at Swain Hall West and Swain Hall East buildings on the IU campus. These buildings are next to each other and the registration desk will be at the entrance of Swain West building.

Getting to Bloomington

Nearest airport to Bloomington is the Indianapolis airport. From there one can get to Bloomington by either Uber/Lyft or using the Go Express shuttle. Go Express provides shuttle service between Bloomington and the Indianapolis International Airport. Shuttles take about 75 minutes to travel between the airport and campus.


Indiana is in the Eastern time zone. There are several Bloomingtons! Ours is the one in central Indiana.


We have reserved blocks of rooms at Graduate Bloomington and Hyatt Place Bloomington for conference participants. Funded participants will each get a room with a roommate in one of those hotels for April 10-11 and the room will directly be paid for by the conference. Hotels are within walking distance from the conference venue. Sometime after registration has closed, we will let participants know at which hotels they will be staying.


During weekends, parking is free in the parking garage at the intersection of Third Street and Indiana Avenue, and the parking lot at the intersection of Sixth Street and Dunn Street. Both are within walking distance of the Math Department.

Contact Information

Have a question? Send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!

Conference Participants

Abhishek Mallick Abhra Abir Kundu Adalet Cengel Alejandro Santacruz Hidalgo Alex Kapiamba Alex Manchester Alexandra Embry Ana C Chavez Caliz Andres Mejia Ang Li Anthony Sanchez Anup Poudel Bingyan Liu Bogdan Krstic Bradley Zykoski Brandis Whitfield Brandon Bavier Brian Shin Bridget Schreiner Caitlyn Sloan Cameron Rudd Carissa Slone Carolyn Stephen Casandra Monroe Cherry Ng Chi Cheuk Tsang Chloe Lewis Christopher Loa Connor Grady Daniel Douglas Danika Van Niel David Jaz Myers David Sykes Delaney Aydel Dillon Lisk Dominic Veconi Doron Grossman-Naples Duncan Clark Eduardo Oregón-Reyes Elaina Aceves Elizabeth Tatum Emily Shinkle Emily Smith Ethan Farber Feride Ceren Kose Frankie Chan Hadrian Quan Hannah Turner Hao Chen Ian Montague Ikshu Neithalath Ivan Telpukhovskiy Jack Hafer Jake Pichelmeyer James Owusu Asare Jasim Ismaeel Jiawei Han John Darges John Gabriel Pelias Johnson Tan Jonathan Johnson Jordy Cheyem Lopez Garcia Joseph Michael Melby Josh Southerland Joshua Drouin Jungsoo Park Junqing Qian Junrong Yan Justin Barhite Justin Bryant Karen Butt Karthik Vasu Katharine Adamyk Katherine Burke Kennedy Courtney Keshav Sutrave Konstantinos Tsouvalas Kursat Yilmaz Leah Leiner Linda Alegria Luis Flores Luis Torres Lydia Holley Marissa Miller Mark Greenfield Matt Superdock Matthew Carr Mauro Camargo Maya Verma Mengzhudong Feng Mitul Islam Nathapon Udomlertsakul Neetal Neel Neza Zager Korenjak Nicholas Cazet Nicholas Wawrykow Nikolas Schonsheck Nilan Manoj Chathuranga Ningchuan Zhang Nurdin Takenov Pablo S. Ocal Paul Simanjuntak Pedro Valentin de Jesus Prakash Kumar Singh Prerna Agarwal Puttipong Pongtanapaisan Qiuling Fan Randy Van Why Rebekah Palmer Reebhu Bhattacharyya Rhea Palak Bakshi Robin Belton Robert McConkey Rok Greogirc Rose Kaplan-Kelly Sambit Senapati Sangsan Warakkagun Sanjay Kumar Sarah Percival Sarah Petersen Seppo Niemi-colvin Sergio Chaves Shawn Nevalainen Shravan Saoji Shuo Zhang Stanislav Trunov Stephen Gilles Tantrik Mukerji Taras Kolomatski Terrin Warren Thanittha Kowan Thomas Melistas Virgil Chan Wei He Wendy Medina Woongbae Park Xinran Yu Yagmur Yilmaz Yanwen Luo Yu Hin Chan Yu Zhang Yunan Wang Yunxuan Li Zachary Halladay Zimin Miao